Given the increase in the cases of cybersecurity breaches, identity thefts, and cybercrimes, the need for robust measures to combat such issues has gone up. With the aim to standardize cybersecurity preparedness within federal organizations, the U.S DOD has implemented CMMC Cybersecurity Maturity Model Certification.

In this blog, we will understand the Cybersecurity Maturity Model Certification in detail and why is it required in the first place.

What is Cybersecurity Maturity Model?

The CMMC program was initiated to evaluate the cybersecurity preparedness and readiness of defense contractors. The CMMC comprises various processes and frameworks from cybersecurity standards like DFARS, FAR, NIST. However, the goal of CMMC is to ensure the safety and security of Controlled Unclassified Information and Federal Contract Information possessed and used by federal contractors.

CMM offers a path for organizations to monitor and assess their cybersecurity remediation plan regularly. With a deliberately planned cybersecurity model, an organization can improve its cybersecurity efforts and get timely support when needed.

Several cybersecurity frameworks provide a comprehensive approach to cybersecurity preparedness. The Cyber Security Capability Maturity Model and National Institute of Standards and Technology cybersecurity framework are two of the many available options.

The C2M2 cybersecurity framework was initially developed by the U.S Department Of Energy to be used by power companies. However, any organization or federal contractor can use it to evaluate their cybersecurity readiness. Besides this, there are various IT firms known for CMMC consulting and preparedness services.

Why CMMC matter?

It is assessed that cybercrime causes a loss of $600 billion every year to the global GDP. Since the Department of Defense depends upon a massive network of contractors and subcontractors, it’s required to share critical data with various agencies. This increases the risk of cybersecurity breaches and cybercrimes. Moreover, DoD is well aware of the burden and risk of cybercrimes is enormous on their subcontractors. Compared to prime contractors, many of these subcontractors are small business ventures with limited resources to combat cybersecurity concerns. With the aim to facilitate such subcontractors with the necessary resources, the DoD has release CMMC.

To Whom Does CMMC Apply?

The Cybersecurity Maturity Model Certification is for contractors and subcontractors who directly and indirectly deal with the U.S Department of Defense.

Albeit some degree of accreditation will be a prerequisite of each agreement starting in 2026, DoD has shown that they plan to give contract openings at all levels of the development model, implying that there will be some number of solicitations gave that will require just a low degree of confirmation and some that will require more elevated levels of the certificate.

How to Get CMMC Certified

The Department of Defense has created CMMC Accreditation Body. The Accreditation Body is a non-profit organization that runs independently and accredits 3PAOs. Although the details regarding the functioning of the certification are still forthcoming, the Department of Defense is currently in the process of establishing a marketplace for the Third Party Assessment Organizations, which contractors and subcontractors can hire for certification.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *